What is a Relaxed Performance?

Relaxed performances – sometimes called “sensory friendly performances” or “extra live” performances – were initially designed to make theatre spaces more comfortable and welcoming to audience members with autism spectrum disorder, a sensory and communication disorder or a learning disability. Other audience members who benefit from Relaxed Performances include parents with toddlers, people with Tourette’s syndrome, people who experience anxiety or people who are not comfortable with the conventions of a traditional theatre setting.

Why implement Relaxed Performances?

Approaching your audiences with an inclusive framework will benefit your organization in many ways. It will:

  • Foster capacity building, confidence and leadership amongst your staff to encourage them to take a proactive participation in a global discussion on arts, disability and human rights;
  • Engage and develop new and diverse audiences for the arts to improve access for all;
  • Encourage a shift in your organizational policies.
To me relaxed performances are useful because they send a clear message: We have thought of you and we want you to see this show.
Jess Thom, artist and co-founder of Touretteshero

About

Workshops

Theatre curtains

The Foundation: The Principles of a Relaxed Performance

The Foundation workshop provides a basic overview of Relaxed Performance, what it is, who is this for, how it started and examples of what it can look like in practice. This overview includes information on how to build a Visual Story and working with artists and producers to ensure that the integrity of the artwork is never compromised when integrating a Relaxed Performance in your programming.

Megaphone

Getting the Word Out: Marketing and Audience Development

This workshop is geared towards your organization’s marketing and communications team and will look at the various ways to engage audiences who may want to take advantage of a Relaxed Performance program. This session will include a workshopping opportunity that will ask your marketing/communications staff to start brainstorming how to successfully market a future RP event.

Theatre ticket

Opening the Doors: Front of House Staff training

The Opening the Doors workshop provides training support to your organization’s Front of House, box office, security and volunteers on engaging and interacting with audience members in a Relaxed environment. This workshop aims to enhance awareness on different experiences that your audience members might have at the theatre and ways to help staff feel more confident welcoming all audience members.

Upcoming Workshops

No upcoming workshops scheduled. Please check back soon!

Get involved

Survey Part 1

  • Fill out our survey and join our mailing list!

    The following survey should only take you 10 minutes. Please start by telling us who you are and how we can keep in touch!

Qu’est-ce qu’une représentations décontractées?

Les représentations décontractées ont été conçues afin de rendre les salles de théâtre plus confortables et accueillantes pour les membres du public atteints de troubles du spectre autistique, de troubles sensoriels et de communication, ou de difficultés d’apprentissage. D’autres membres du public bénéficient également des représentations décontractées, comme les parents avec de jeunes enfants, les personnes atteintes du syndrome de Tourette, les personnes souffrant d’anxiété, ou les personnes qui ne sont pas à l’aise avec les conventions d’un contexte théâtral traditionnel.

Pourquoi instaurer des représentations décontractées?

Approcher votre public dans un cadre inclusif est bénéfique pour votre organisme de plusieurs façons :

  • Favorise le développement des compétences, la confiance et le leadership de votre personnel, et encourage une participation proactive dans une discussion globale sur les arts, les handicaps et les droits de la personne;
  • Crée un dialogue et développe des publics artistiques nouveaux et divers afin d’améliorer l’accès pour tous;
  • Encourage un changement à votre politique organisationnelle.
To me relaxed performances are useful because they send a clear message: We have thought of you and we want you to see this show.
Jess Thom, artiste et co-fondatrice de Touretteshero

À propos

Ateliers

Theatre curtains

Fondation: Les principes des performances décontractées

L’atelier de fondation offre un survol des performances décontractées, ce qu’elles comportent, à qui elles s’adressent, leurs origines et quelques exemples pratiques. Ce survol inclut des informations sur comment créer un récit visuel, et comment travailler avec les artistes et créateurs afin de ne pas compromettre l’intégrité d’une œuvre dans un cadre de performance décontractée.

Theatre ticket

Ouvrir ses portes: Formation de l’équipe d’avant-scène

Ce deuxième atelier est une formation qui s’adresse aux employés et aux bénévoles d’avant-scène de votre organisme, et porte sur l’interaction avec les spectateurs dans un cadre décontracté. L’atelier vise à sensibiliser votre équipe aux différentes expériences que vos spectateurs pourraient rencontrer dans un contexte théâtral, et à lui donner la confiance nécessaire pour mieux accueillir votre public.

Megaphone

Faire passer le mot: Marketing et développement des publics

Cet atelier est destiné à l’équipe de marketing et de communication de votre organisme, et explore les diverses manières d’atteindre les publics désirant profiter d’une programmation de performances décontractées. Cette séance inclut un volet où votre équipe de marketing/communication pourra commencer à développer des idées qui vous permettront de promouvoir un événement de performance décontractée avec succès.

Ateliers à venir

No upcoming workshops scheduled. Please check back soon!

Nous joindre

Survey Part 1

  • Remplir notre sondage et joignez-vous à notre liste d'envoi!

    L'enquête suivante ne devrait que vous prendre 10 minutes. Commencez par nous dire qui vous êtes et comment nous pouvons rester en contact!